Jasper County Courthouse

Russell St., Ridgeland, South Carolina


Jasper County Courthouse

Photo taken by Michael Miller in May 2019



Street View 


Jasper County Courthouse is the first and only courthouse for Jasper County, which was formed in 1912 from parts of Hampton and Beaufort Counties. The courthouse was built in 1915, according to plans by William Augustus Edwards. C.V. York was the contractor. The courthouse is a two-story brick building of Georgian Revival design. The colossal tetrastyle Ionic portico, the heraldic shield in the tympanum, and the siting of the building, occupying an entire block, are devices intended to establish and reinforce the authority of the newly established county government. The portico, as well, establishes an order by which the entire building is composed. Its entablature is carried around the entire building. The courthouse has a cross-axis plan, with a short, broad hall leading from the portico and a long longitudinal hall perpendicular to the entrance hall. The courtroom occupies most of the second story. A World War I memorial, a flagpole, and a low brick wall complete the grounds. Listed in the National Register October 30, 1981. - SCDAH

National Register information 

Posted to the National Register of Historic Places on October 30, 1981
Reference number
Architectural styles
Late 19th and 20th Century Revival: Colonial Revival; Other architectural type; Georgian Revival
Areas of significance
Politics/Government; Architecture
Level of significance
Evaluation criteria
A - Event; C - Design/Construction
Property type
Historic functions
Courthouse; Monument/marker
Current functions
Monument/marker; Courthouse
Period of significance
Significant year
Number of properties
Contributing buildings: 1
Contributing structures: 1

Update Log 

  • June 3, 2019: New photo from Michael Miller
  • September 17, 2014: Updated by Michael Miller: Added "Description" & "Street View" and Imported Photo
  • September 17, 2014: Photo imported by Michael Miller