Seacoast Packing Company

Also known as: Peninsular Canning Company/Pig Factory, Pickle Factory, The "Slaughter House"
SE of Grayson St & Fripp St Intersection along Spanish Moss Trail., Beaufort, South Carolina

Photo 

Seacoast Packing Company, Southeast Oblique

South Carolina Department of Archives and History

View this photo at nationalregister.sc.gov

Map 

Description 

Long referred to as “the Pig Factory” or “the Slaughter House” but more recently better known as “the Pickle Factory,” the Seacoast Packing Company is significant for its contributions to the Beaufort economy in the areas of industry and agriculture. Built 1920-1921, it is important to the history of the city because it was constructed at a time when Beaufort was trying to diversify its economy. Funded by local subscription in company stocks, the construction of the meat packing plant was conceived as a community development project to improve the economic condition of the area. After the almost immediate failure of the meat packing enterprise, the building was utilized from 1928 to ca. 1940 for grocery overflow storage, then from 1932 to ca. 1940 and from ca. 1945 to 1947 as a tomato canning plant factory and pickle packing plant, respectively, contributing to the continued significance of the structure for its role in truck farming in the region. The building stands as one of the only remaining early twentieth century industrial buildings in the city limits and is now surrounded by a single-family residential area. The building was designed by Brooks Engineering of Moultrie, Georgia, as a poured-in-place concrete frame with a structural tile wall infill system typical of the time period, but unique to the area. The tile has been covered with stucco on the lower two levels, most likely as a result of the infilling of windows when the building changed use or was employed as a warehouse. The original tile is still exposed on the upper floor of the structure. The east façade, which faces the railroad and has a stepped parapet wall, is the building’s primary façade. Listed in the National Register June 17, 2008. - SCDAH

National Register information 

Status
Posted to the National Register of Historic Places on June 17, 2008
Reference number
08000537
Architectural style
Other architectural type; Industrial
Areas of significance
Architecture; Industry; Agriculture
Level of significance
Local
Evaluation criteria
A - Event; C - Design/Construction
Property type
Building
Periods of significance
1900-1924; 1925-1949
Significant years
1920; 1932

Update Log 

  • August 18, 2014: Photo imported by Michael Miller
  • July 1, 2014: Updated by Michael Miller: Added "GPS Coordinates" & "Description"

Sources