Valencia

NW of Ridgeway on CR 106, Ridgeway, South Carolina

Antebellum plantation house near Ridgeway, SC

Photos 

Valencia, Facade

South Carolina Department of Archives and History

View this photo at nationalregister.sc.gov

Map 

Description 

A Fairfield County landmark, this upcountry plantation house reflects the lowcountry background of its original owner, whose descendants have consistently maintained its character. Valencia was built by Edward Gendron Palmer, a leader in civic, political, and religious life of Ridgeway and Fairfield County, who exerted much influence in building of railroads in upper South Carolina. He studied at Dr. Moses Waddel’s school at Willington, graduated from South Carolina College, A.B. 1819, read law in Columbia, and was admitted to the South Carolina Bar in 1821. Palmer was a member of the Nullification Convention (1834-1848) and the South Carolina Senate (1857-65). He was instrumental in building Fairfield District’s first Episcopal place of worship, Cedar Creek Mission, and Saint Stephen’s Episcopal Church in 1854. Valencia is a large two-story frame house on a brick pier foundation built ca. 1834. The house features a hipped roof, two mammoth chimneys, and a broad one-story piazza with unique elliptical arches. The interior features long central halls on both floors, high-ceilinged rooms, carved trim and woodwork, and noteworthy mantels. The home overlooks gently rolling hills. The view, reminiscent of the family’s travels to Valencia, Spain, inspired the property’s name. Listed in the National Register May 6, 1971.

National Register information 

Status
Posted to the National Register of Historic Places on May 6, 1971
Reference number
71000779
Areas of significance
Transportation; Politics/Government; Architecture; Religion; Agriculture
Level of significance
Local
Evaluation criteria
C - Design/Construction; B - Person
Property type
Building
Historic function
Single dwelling
Current function
Single dwelling
Periods of significance
1850-1874; 1825-1849
Significant year
1834

Update Log 

  • September 5, 2014: Photo imported by Michael Miller
  • October 31, 2013: Updated by Michael Miller: Added "Description" & "Overview"

Sources