Stiles-Hinson House

Also known as: Stiles Point Plantation
940 Paul Revere Dr., Charleston, South Carolina

Photo 

Stiles-Hinson House, Facade

South Carolina Department of Archives and History

View this photo at nationalregister.sc.gov

Map 

Description 

The Stiles-Hinson house is actually two houses built back to back. Built in 1742 by Benjamin Stiles, a pioneer planter on James Island, the Stiles-Hinson house was a vital plantation during the 18th and 19th centuries. William Godber Hinson, who made significant contributions in the field of agricultural science, built the 1891 portion of the house and continued to keep the plantation active until the early years of the 20th century. The back-to-back arrangement of a relatively unaltered 18th century cottage and a late 19th century Victorian mansion is most unusual and is unique in this area. Despite their wedded interior, the exterior of both houses are characteristic of their historic periods. The Stiles portion of the house is an example of a mid-18th century planterís house. The modified bellcast gambrel roof, the projecting shed dormers, and the double shouldered brick chimneys are notable features of this simple planters cottage. The structure is one-and-one-half stories and rests on a low foundation. The riverside house, built by Hinson, is a large and elegant Victorian structure with high ceiling, bracketed cornices, a mansard roof, and wooden balustrades. This addition is two-and-one-half stories and is supported by low brick piers above a partial basement. Listed in the National Register October 9, 1974. - SCDAH

National Register information 

Status
Posted to the National Register of Historic Places on October 9, 1974
Reference number
74001833
Areas of significance
Military; Architecture; Agriculture
Level of significance
State
Evaluation criteria
C - Design/Construction; B - Person
Property type
Building
Historic function
Single dwelling
Current function
Single dwelling
Periods of significance
1875-1899; 1700-1749; 1750-1799
Significant years
1742; 1780; 1891
Number of properties
Contributing buildings: 2

Update Log 

  • August 19, 2014: Photo imported by Michael Miller
  • July 28, 2014: Updated by Michael Miller: Added "Description"

Sources