Morey--Seidens House

2020 Easy St., Waukesha, Wisconsin

Modest, one-and-a-half-story, cobblestone dwelling

Photos 

Overview Looking Northeast

The house is situated on a double lot, facing south, and on a steeply sloping hill. There is a garage on the northeast corner of the lot, actually below the house.

Photo taken by J.R. Manning in April 2016

Enlarge

Map 

Description 

"The Morey-Seidens house is a modest-sized one-and-a-half-story dwelling whose design and use of cobblestones as a siding material was strongly influenced by the Bungalow and the American Craftsman styles. The Morey-Seidens house was built in 1929 by Pewaukee, Wisconsin builder Paul Miller and it is one of four cobblestone sided houses that Miller constructed between 1927 and 1932 in the Westowne Subdivision, an early suburb of the city of Waukesha. This 100 acre subdivision was developed in 1927 from portions of two farms that had been purchased by Theodore (Ted) Morey...[who was] the dean of Waukesha real estate developers. Together, Morey and Miller designed and built the first four dwellings in the subdivision and also a small building that served Morey as a land sales office. The designs of these five buildings were derived largely from Miller's previous building experience and all of them had and have exteriors wholly or almost completely covered in cobblestones taken from old fences and rock piles found on the site or on neighboring farms."

Quotation from a document prepared for the National Park Service, Inventory Form for Nominated Properties dated July 15, 1991 by Timothy F. Heggland.

National Register information 

Status
Posted to the National Register of Historic Places on April 14, 1995
Reference number
95000404
Architectural style
American Movement: Bungalow/Craftsman
Area of significance
Architecture
Level of significance
Local
Evaluation criteria
C - Design/Construction
Property type
Building
Historic function
Single dwelling
Current function
Single dwelling
Period of significance
1925-1949
Significant year
1929

Update Log 

  • April 14, 2016: Updated by J.R. Manning: Updated status, added description and added photos

Sources