San Gregorio House

Also known as: Palmer Hotel, Bell Hotel
Old Stage Rd., San Gregorio, California

Photos 

EAST FRONT FROM SOUTHEAST

Photo taken for the Historic American Buildings Survey

Map 

Description 

A second floor was added to the existing house here in about 1865 when G.W.T. Carter opened a hotel. When John Evans acquired the building in 1875 he added seven bays to the three-bay house. Jesse Palmer and Frank Bell ran the hotel from 1888 until the 1930s. The house is still in the Bell family. The original three bay dwelling was expanded to form the San Gregorio House when the area began to receive tourist activity in the 1850's. For over sixty years it was a popular lodging place for fishermen, hunters and numerous prominent persons from California and Europe. With exception of the cookhouse and livery stable, all of the original outbuildings remain. Thes include: saloon, dance hall, liveryman's cottage, laundry, smoke house, grainery, carriage sheds, power house, water tower, and numerous barns. These buildings, constructed of local redwood, display a restrained use of Greek Revival detailing typical of coastside ranch architecture of a century ago. The most dominant decorative feature is the columned veranda which runs the full length of the hotel and supports a balcony with its original balustrade. The simply framed windows are largely unchanged, as are the many four-paneled doors. Viewed in its impressive natural surroundings, this unique hotel complex presents a convincing nineteenth century landscape. -- Historic American Buildings Survey

National Register information 

Status
Posted to the National Register of Historic Places on May 6, 1977
Reference number
77000341
Architectural style
Mid 19th Century Revival: Exotic Revival
Areas of significance
Commerce; Transportation; Architecture
Level of significance
Local
Evaluation criteria
A - Event; C - Design/Construction
Property type
Building
Historic functions
Hotel; Restaurant; Secondary structure; Storage
Period of significance
1850-1874
Significant year
1865
Number of properties
Contributing buildings: 8

Update Log 

  • April 28, 2012: Imported photos from HABS/HAER

Sources