The Administration building, located between the Poe & MacArthur locks, was built in 1897. In 1943 the main chimney was removed & replaced with a dispatch tower. Each office on the 1st & 2nd floor has a fireplace, tho no longer used. The basement contains pumps used to dewater the locks.
The Davis building, located between the Davis & Poe locks, was built in 1914. The basement also contains pumps used to dewater the locks.
The Sabin Lock's Northeast Intermediate Shelter is significant as an element that contributes to the overall integrity of the Soo Lock complex in general. The shelter is also significant as a unique component that facilitates the operation of the lock's gates, thus accommodating navigation on the St. Marys River between Lakes Huron and Superior. -- Historic American Engineering Record (HAER MI-322-B-7)