West Main Street Historic District

W. Main, Church and Academy Sts., Chesterfield, South Carolina

Photos 

Austin-Craig House, 302 W. Main St.

Constructed: 1858 Sytle: Carpenter Gothic Revival

South Carolina Department of Archives and History

Map 

Description 

The West Main Street Historic District, which is the core of an intact residential neighborhood, includes five nineteenth century buildings and a large number of fashionable and substantial buildings dating from Chesterfield’s era of greatest prosperity in the early twentieth century. The ornate, Carpenter Gothic Revival Austin-Craig House, built in 1858, is unique to the West Main Street Historic District as the only known antebellum house in Chesterfield that diverges from the traditional farmhouse form. In addition to the Austin-Craig House, the district contains seventeen properties total, including two churches, a school, and five larger residences built between 1900-1930. Many properties are of brick construction. Freedmen of the community built one of the churches in the district in 1878, and it is the only identified ecclesiastical building in Chesterfield to have survived this period. One early commercial building, now used as apartments, is also included in the historic district. The district is unified by landscaping, the relative scales of the buildings in accord with their local importance, and by the absence of major intrusive elements. Listed in the National Register May 4, 1982 - SCDAH

National Register information 

Status
Posted to the National Register of Historic Places on May 4, 1982
Reference number
82003849
Architectural styles
Late 19th and 20th Century Revival; Victorian
Area of significance
Architecture
Level of significance
Local
Evaluation criteria
C - Design/Construction
Property type
District
Historic function
Single dwelling
Current function
Single dwelling
Periods of significance
1900-1924; 1875-1899; 1850-1874; 1825-1849; 1925-1949
Significant year
ca. 1900
Number of properties
Contributing buildings: 13
Non-contributing buildings: 5

Update Log 

  • August 19, 2014: Photo imported by Michael Miller
  • August 8, 2014: Updated by Michael Miller: Added "Description" & "Street View"
  • August 8, 2014: New Street View added by Michael Miller

Sources