A 590 foot tall mesa overlooking the CIty of La Crosse and the Mississippi River Valley
The bluff was to be quarried in the 19th Century, in fact, part of it was quarried until residents of La Crosse protested the operation. Local interests raised funds to purchase the land for the city, to be used as a park.
A shelter was built in 1938 as a WPA project, using limestone quarried from the south side of the bluff. Another building with rest rooms was added in 1964.
A 65' flagpole was built in 1941 by the La Crosse Chapter of Reserve Officers Association with funds raised by school children. It stood through WWII, Korea and Viet Nam before being replaced by a 75' flagpole in 1981 that was struck by lightning in 1984. The replacement flagpole was blown over by wind in 1998. A 70' flagpole replaced it which still stands as of this writing.
Grandad Bluff is a source of immense civic pride and attracts both tourists and residents.