Pfeiffer Spring

Abandoned
Pfeiffer Springs Park, Cedar Falls, Ia

Stone fountain which served as a spring, trout hatchery & fountain

Photos 

Pfeiffer Spring

View standing on the rock wall looking into the enclosure. The fountain in the middle still stands.

Photo taken by Dave King on July 22, 2014

Enlarge

Map 

Description 

The springs that gave the park its name once gave water to the city. Beginning in 1888, the city enclosed the springs and piped the water to the people of Cedar Falls. After the typhoid epidemic of 1911-12 was blamed on the springs (though without proof), the springs were abandoned for a different water source. In 1921, the springs and the surrounding ten acres of land were given to the city by H. Jacob and Mary Pfeiffer for use as a park. In the 1930ís, the Iowa Conservation Commission established a concrete and stone fish pond as a part of a New Deal Project. Water from the springs was channeled into a pond, which was decorated with a large fountain. The pond was made with rock walls giving it a rustic look. For several years Pfeiffer Springs Park was a popular picnic place. Fish were stocked in the pond for decorative reasons but they tended to disappear rather quickly. The land began to settle, cracking the pond, and the picnic area was forced to close. Today the springs no longer has much flow and what is left of the pond and fountain is hidden by undergrowth in the ravine along the left side of the current park.

Tags 

19th Century (37,674)
Abandoned (311)
Black Hawk County, Iowa (48)
Built 1888 (685)
Built during 1880s (6,463)
Cedar Falls, Iowa (8)
Fountain (32)
Iowa (2,514)
Park (581)
Spring (413)

Update Log 

  • September 15, 2019: New photo from mbaumann
  • September 15, 2019: New photo from mbaumann
  • September 15, 2019: New photo from mbaumann
  • September 15, 2019: New photo from mbaumann
  • September 15, 2019: New photo from mbaumann
  • September 15, 2019: New photo from mbaumann
  • September 15, 2019: New photo from mbaumann
  • July 23, 2014: Added by Dave King

Comments 

Pfeiffer Spring
Posted September 15, 2019, by Matthew Baumann

September 2019: Walls of pond are intact as is unique circle structure of the fountain. There is recent evidence of graffiti and I have seen pictures online of people standing on top of fountain circle. Some cracks on it were observed. Would love to see some effort to formally preserve this unique structure.