Take a trip back to the “olden days” at the Highlands Historical Society’s Historic Village located at 524 N. 4th Street. This Village tells the stories of Old Highlands as it is composed of three unique and interesting buildings each with its own folklore tale.
The House-Trapier-Wright Home, known as “The Prince House,” is the oldest existing house in Highlands. It was originally built in 1877 by millright Arthur House and now serves as a living history museum. It has been individually listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The Highlands Historical Museum, originally built in 1915 and constructed to house one of the oldest libraries in the state of North Carolina “The Hudson Library,” was moved to this location in 2002 and is now a state-of-the-art museum and archives.
The Bug Hill Cottage was one of 60 open-air cubicles built in 1908 for patients suffering from Tuberculosis, one of the most dreaded diseases in early 20th century America. This cottage memorializes the devoted work of Dr. Mary Lapham whose Tuberculosis Sanatorium was one of the first in North Carolina and helped to save many Highlander’s from this virulent disease.