Junction of Sandy Brook Road and Colebrook Road
An early one-room schoolhouse in Colebrook
Photo taken by Chester Gehman in September 2020
+42.00740, -73.1072542°00'27" N, 73°06'26" W
Named Rock School after a giant rock behind the building. Closed in 1911 and sold to a private owner in 1920, it remained in private hands until 1970. At that time it was donated to the Colebrook Historical Society and was moved across the road from its original location.The building is unique in that it was never electrified, nor had running water or indoor plumbing.
- September 11, 2020: New photos from Chester Gehman
- September 11, 2020: Added by Chester Gehman
- Chester Gehman - gehmanc2000 [at] yahoo [dot] com