Confederate Congressional Medal of Honor

Courthouse Square, Glasgow, KY


Photo taken by Bill Eichelberger



Street View 


"The President (CSA), in 1862, was authorized to confer a Medal of Honour upon one enlisted man of each company for "every signal victory." At first dress-parade, thereafter, the men engaged in the battle chose, by vote, the soldier most worthy to receive this honour. More Confederates from Barren than any other Kentucky county received this medal."

"Barren County CSA Medalists STONE'S RIVER Dec. 31, 1862-Jan. 2, 1863

Enoch S. Jones, Corp., Co. D, 6th Ky. Inf. James Beverly Lewis, lst Sgt., Co. C, 6th Ky. Inf. Thomas W. Payne, Pvt., Co. E, 6th Ky. Inf. George Walter Rogers, Corp., Co. A, 4th Ky. Inf.

CHICKAMAUGA Sept. 19-20, 1863

Marcellus Smith Mathews, Pvt., Co. D, 6th Ky. Inf. Bayard Taylor Smith, 2nd Lt., Co. A, 4th Ky. Inf. Ephraim R. Smith, Corp., Co. A, 4th Ky. Inf."

Update Log 

  • April 4, 2021: New photo from Bill Eichelberger
  • April 4, 2021: Added by Bill Eichelberger