Payne House

Also known as: Dahlonega Cash Store, Parks Building
40 E. Main St., Dahlonega, Georgia

Photos 

Photo taken by pam phillips in August 2015

Enlarge

Map 

Street View 

Description 

Plaque on building reads: This antebellum building was built or purchased circa 1855 by a military tailor named Jeremiah Payne. In 1928 the Payne House became Dahlonega Cash Store. Frank Parks was one of the owners, and his teen-aged son, Woodrow, delivered groceries in a one-horse wagon. Woodrow left the store to serve in the army air corps during World War II. Upon his return, he opened Parks Clothing in the building. At age 98, Woodrow was still working several days a week. The Parks building is historic, so is the Parks family. Woodrow is the great-grandson of Benjamin Parks, the first to discover gold in the area.

Update Log 

  • November 18, 2015: Updated by Michael Miller: Corrected "Name", "Alternate Names", "GPS Coordinates", "Address" & "NRHP Listing" (to reflect contributing resource to the Dahlonega Commercial Historic District) and Added "Street View"
  • August 25, 2015: Added by pam phillips

Sources 

  • pam phillips
  • Michael Miller - michael_a_miller [at] yahoo [dot] com